All Saints, Horstead
On the day we visited we were fortunate enough to run into the vicar who kindly showed us around this lovely church. Whilst the flint tower dates from the 13th century and the south porch from the 15th, the majority of the church was rebuilt in 1879 by local architect, Richard Phipson who also carried work out at All Saints, Cockley Cley. Phipson was, however, more famously known for being responsible for the rebuilding of St Mary-Le-Tower Church over the border in Ipswich, Suffolk.
The vibrant East window is by Charles Eamer Kempe, identifiable by his mark of a small wheatsheaf in one corner. It depicts the figures of the Blessed Virgin Mary and St Nicholas who are flanked by locals Herbert de Losinga, the first bishop of Norwich, and English mystic, Julian of Norwich. Above them is a tree canopy of shimmering green occupied by red, blue and yellow parrots and even a mischievous squirrel!
There is also an impressive Jesse window by Hardman & Co in the area accessed by the priest's door in the south side of the church. The large figure of Jesse is shown reclining at the bottom of the scene as the tree grows out from his chest. The branches reach up, fanning out to curl around the figures depicting the ancestry of Christ.
A smaller window in the south nave was made by the William Morris workshop and designed by Edward Burne-Jones. Burne-Jones was very much inspired by the Pre-Raphaelite style and the design shows the figures of virtue and courage under a striking blue sky.