St Peter, Clippesby
St Peters is a pretty little church with a round Norman tower topped by an octagonal belfry which was added in the early 1900s. Other Norman elements that remain include the north doorway with its decorated rounded arches and columns. The majority of the church dates from the 13th century, with major alterations and restorations taking place in both the 15th and 19th centuries.
Set in the floor of the chancel are a pair of well-preserved 16th century brasses dedicated to John and Juliana Clippesby, and John Pallyng and his wife. John Clippesby lived at nearby Clippesby Hall and was the last in line to bear the family name when he died in 1594.
The font dates from the 15th century and is supported by eight cross winged angels who each bear a shield underneath the shallow bowl. The side panels are now plain but may have once depicted scenes of the Seven Sacraments which commonly decorated similarly styled fonts.
South of the nave is a lovely window by Margaret Edith Rope. Dating from 1919, it was Rope’s first ever commission and is full of charming details such as a little frog and miniature animals emerging from a toy Noah’s ark. Rope was heavily involved in the Arts & Crafts movement and studied under Karl Parsons and Alfred Drury at the LCC Central School of Arts and Crafts, where she specialised in stained glass.